About ASHRAE Malaysia Chapter

The conception of ASHRAE Malaysia Chapter goes back to 1984. In January 1984, Mr. Rod Oehlers, then Managing Director of Ranhill Bersekutu Sdn Bhd attended the ASHRAE Winter Meeting in Atlanta. There he met his old classmate from the Anglo Chinese School in Singapore, Mr. Loh Peng Sum, who himself had just recently established the Singapore Chapter, known then as “SAAM”,  (Singapore Association of ASHRAE Members). Mr Loh Peng Sum convinced Rod to do likewise for Malaysia. A year after Rod’s return back to Kuala Lumpur in 1985, a Steering Committee was set up and was well supported by the Society’s secretary, Mr. Frank Coda, who himself visited Kuala Lumpur and helped guide the local members to organize a Chapter.

In 1986, the ASHRAE Malaysia Chapter was finally established and an inaugural Ball was held at the Federal Hotel in Kuala Lumpur which was attended by the ASHRAE President and his wife to commemorate the occasion, as well as the then Minister of Science & Environment of Malaysia, Amar Stephen Yong who delivered the keynote address. The Malaysia Chapter’s first Board of Governors (BOG) were the President, Mr. Rod Oehlers, Vice President, En. Hasmi and other members including Ir. Rizal Sardon, Ir. Adrian Tan, Mr. Bernard Loh and Mr. Wong Kong Fah were officially installed at the Ball by the ASHRAE President.

Soon after, the Malaysia Chapter and its members participated actively in various committees on Energy Management, Research Promotion, the Uniform Building By-Laws and Malaysian Standards pertaining to HVAC. Later that year, the Malaysia Chapter, represented by Mr. Rod Oehlers and En. Hasmi, attended for the very first time, ASHRAE’s Chapters Regional Conference (CRC) for Region X at San Diego, California.

The Malaysia Chapter’s Presidency was well succeeded by capable leaders over the years and the Chapter has since grown in strength and continued to play an active role in the HVAC industry in Malaysia as well as in the Region. In 1997, we witnessed yet another historic event, the formation of ASHRAE Region XIII together with Singapore, Hong Kong and Taiwan Chapters. Since then, Region XIII has added on new Chapters from the Philippines, Thailand and Indonesia, as well as the newly-established Chapters from Japan (2015), South Korea (2015) and Macao (2016). Region XIII’s first Chapters Regional Conference (CRC) was held in Singapore in 1998 followed by Hong Kong in 1999. From 2000 onwards, our Chapter has successfully organized ASHRAE Regional and International conferences as follows: -

  1.  25 & 26 August 2000: 3rd Region XIII CRC held at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, Kuala Lumpur.
  2. 25 & 26 August 2006: 9th Region XIII CRC held at the Sunway Lagoon Resort Hotel, Sunway, Selangor.
  3. 10 – 12 November 2010: ASHRAE IAQ 2010 Conference: Airborne Infection Control – Ventilation, IAQ & Energy held at the Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur.
  4. 10 & 11 August 2012: 15th Region XIII CRC held at the Royale Chulan Hotel, Kuala Lumpur.

Honorary Past Presidents:

1986 – 87 Ir. Rodney R.Oehlers 2002 – 03 Ir. Den Low Han Guan
1987 – 88 Ir. Rizal Sardon 2003 – 04 Ir. Yeo Boon Kah
1989 – 90 Ir. Koh Tat Poh 2004 – 05 Ir. Ong Ching Loon
1990 – 91 Ir. Dr.Ong Kok Seng 2005 – 06 Mr. Hen Seak Chong
1991 – 92 Ir. Prof.Dr.Ow Chee Sheng 2006 – 07 Mr. Chea Suei Keong
1992 – 93 Ir. Chan Cheong Hoo 2007 – 08 Ir. Chen Thiam Leong
1993 – 94 Ir. Steven Toh 2008 – 09 Ms. Irin Kang Siew Foon
1994 – 95 Dr. K.S.Kannan 2009 – 10 Mr. Khew Swee Lian
1995 – 96 Mr. Bernard Loh 2010 – 11 Mr. Chan Jian Wen
1996 – 97 Ir. Yim Hon Wa 2011 – 12 Mr. Dennis Soon Chin Lim
1997 – 98 Mr. Hing Fook Yong 2012 – 13 Ms. Ainee Cha
1998 – 99 Mr. Ng Kah Choong 2013 – 14 Ir. Lam Kim Seong
1999 – 00 Ir. Ng Yong Kong 2014 – 15 Mr. Foo Say Jan
2000 – 01 Dato’ Ir. Prof.Dr.Ow Chee Sheng 2015 – 17 Mr. Andes Quek Lim Seng
2001 – 02 Ir. Leong Siew Meng 2018 – 19 Ir. Tan Chioo Bin